Lost Notes

With Brennyn napping at home and Kaya in her 45 minute ballet class, I usually spend Wednesday afternoons grocery shopping, or failing that, glued to my phone perusing the net.

Today I had no shopping to do and I forgot my phone at home.

So I went to Starbucks for a tea and some note taking. My purse always has a notebook (or receipt or diaper) to write upon.

It’s been awhile since I’ve indulged in this favorite hobby of mine. Writing, real writing- not typing, at a cafe. So I open up my notebook and start reading some previous jotted down notes. There are some notes I recognize as blogs I’ve already written. There are some pages I am at a complete loss as to what I was talking about. And there are lots of kid funnies. I’m guessing they’re about 6 months old, though some may be even longer.

Anyways, here they are. Just because I find them hilarious.

***

Trying to fit a shirt over Kaya’s head, I say “Did your head get bigger?”

“No.”

“You must have a lot of brains growing in there!”

“I don’t want brains cuz they hurt me.”

***

(For Gammy)

Me singing “Lou Lou, Skip to my Lou…”

“Gammy say that!” Kaya informs me. Then she continues the song “Skip to my Lou my Gammy Darling!”

***

I jotted down a new word for my brother.

SARCHASM: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient who doesn’t get it.

So sums up my brother.

Then I added a couple more. They must have come from an forwarded email or something.

  • ‘There are no stupid questions…

Only stupid questionners.’

  • ‘If you find it hard to laugh at yourself, I would be happy to do it for you.’ ~Frank Zappa
  • ‘Oh, you hate your job? Why didn’t you say so? There’s a support group for that. It’s called EVERYBODY and they meet at the bar.’ ~Drew Carey

***

The day before, the girls were thrilled to help me with spray bottles and cloths to clean the stairwell and windows. The next day, this little ditty:

“Look Mom! I put boogies all on the wall!”

“No, you do NOT do that please!” said firmly annoyed.

Then looking up at me with her huge hazelnuts “But now we can spray them, right mom?!”

***

As I typed this up, Kaya was reading her Vreader book and Brennyn was napping. Since then, Kaya decided she had energy to show me her ballet moves from class today and Brennyn woke up.  Naturally, a dancing-on-the-bed party ensues. I wouldn’t be telling you this except during that time, Kaya uttered perhaps the best sentence she has ever uttered. And I shall share it now with you.

There they are, my girls, dancing as if no one is watching. Only I am. Brennyn with side head mohawk from her ponytail ripped out during nap time, along with one sock. She’s bouncing, and falling. And head banging. To Brown Eyed Girl.

Then there is Kaya, still fully dressed in her ballet clothes. Tights, shirt and skirt- so pretty in pink.

Serenading and spinning and leaping good fun is happening when Kaya stops to ask,

“Mom, have you ever heard a spoofering ballerina before?”

(Spoofering, if you didn’t know, is farting.)

So unprepared for such a question, I sputter and choke and crack up.

“Cuz I just spoofered!”

My Spooferina Ballerina!

Classic.

2 thoughts on “Lost Notes

  1. Oh Kaya your Gammy is sitting here all by herself laughing at the spoofering ballerina. So funny! I will chuckle all night over that one! Thank you

Leave a Reply

