A Happy Year

In my luxurious spa bath last night and on the car ride to the city today, I had composed a blog in my head for today on ‘reflection’, being the last day of the year and all that. But now as I sit here, my thoughts are gone. They will return and I will post this week I am sure, but today I will post instead a poem from a birthday card my mom gave me.

If you can value truth
above approval,
and friendship over beauty,
wealth, or fame,

If you can share your gifts
and talents wisely,
leaving someone better off
than when you came,

If you find happiness
in simple pleasures
and see the rainbow, not the falling rain,

If you have faith to keep right on believing
in miracles that no one can explain,

If you look until you see the good in others
and keep your spirit honest, true, and free,

Then you’ll be, not just happy and successful,
but the woman only
you were meant to be.

~Emily Matthews

And that, basically, is what I strive for everyday. Being me. Being happy. Being true to myself which in turn becomes that happiness.

Since Kaya took me to see Seussical the Musical today for my birthday (LOVE!), I will leave off here with a few quotes saying the same things even more succinctly and true,

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”
“You’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting,
So… get on your way!”
“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”
You’re a wise one Dr. Seuss. Thank you!
Bring on 2011!
Leave a Reply

