Quote Me Photo- My Treasures

We can only be said to be alive

in those moments when our hearts

are conscious of our treasures.Β  ~Thornton Wilder

On a gorgeous fall day, my girls and I decide to go for a picnic. Completely conscious of my treasures, I am alive. Full of deep gratitude.

Biking to the river’s edge, we pass sunflowers, ducks and cursing golfers. When Kaya tells me the sky is popping popcorn, I know life can get no sweeter. Of course, I am totally wrong when it does just that upon beginning our picnic.

We spread out our blanket on a pocket of sand in the midst of a rocky bank. The sun pours all over us while we eat cheese sandwiches and grapes from our neighbors vine. Tummies satisfied, it is time to play. We build sand castles, chasing stick dragons away with rock princesses. We dig our toes in the cold, course sand and throw rocks for Riley to catch.

Apparently cheese sandwiches did not cut it. Because there goes Brenny, again, indulging in her favourite sand snack. She doesn’t make it look so appealing does she?

Kaya is being unusually cooperative with picture taking today. I take full advantage.

And though Brennyn is not cooperating with the camera, curiosity at what big sis is finding so fascinating beckons her.

Until big sis shoves her out of the way for more silliness. And if I can get a shot like this, I’ll ignore that slight shove.

This time.

Have I mentioned there was dancing?

Oh yes, at one point all three of us dance along the river bank, for all the eagles, dog walkers and fishies to see. And hear since laughter is our only song.

Barefooting it in the sand while hopping on and over rocks, makes for some snazzy dance steps my friends. You’ll have to take my word for it. Or ask those fishies. Or try it yourself. Yah, I highly recommend that last one.

Just remember to bring your treasures.

50 thoughts on “Quote Me Photo- My Treasures

  1. What a way to start my day! Thank you so much for this post AND THOSE PICTURES……you have a gift. Thank you for sharing and reminding us all to pay attention and acknowledge our treasures.

  2. I think this is such a beautiful “journal” through your photos. I am also a photographer/mom, and I just love how the combination can just truly capture the beauty of the experience. Well done, I look forward to seeing and reading more!

  3. Wow, I’m overwhelmed at your ability to express such feeling and to capture it on film as well. And the Wilder quote is perfect. My treasures are now 35, 34 and 29. And yes, that feeling is every bit as strong today as it was back then.

  4. Very nice! I am new to the blog community(recently started my own photo blogging wordpress site). I especially like the second one from the bottom.

    Wow…looked through some of your images on flickr…awesome! You have a beautiful family.

  5. These pictures are so sweet! You have great kids and they’re so beautiful! Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed! πŸ˜€

  6. Oh! That’s really cute, and I must say I like the pictures. If you like dancing with your young ones may I suggest a song? You may have heard it, Dancing with Cinderella by Steven Curtis Chapmen, I think you would really like it and it will be a fun song to dance to next time. πŸ™‚ God bless.

  7. Wow, thanks all!! I was on an 8.5 hour roadtrip yesterday (yes, with the girls-yikes!) and came on this morning to such wonderful comments! I had no idea how that happened until I saw that I was Freshly Pressed πŸ™‚

  8. Beautiful shots of beautiful kids. Keep on having all the fun with them that you can – these are the days they will remember and the sort of memories every parent would want their children to have.

  9. Beautiful Angels, I have one beautiful Angel as well. Love children, love to teach them Hawaiin Martial Arts where they discover how precious they are and that they are Champions within.

  10. Thanks for your kind words! i think kiddies shoes are the cutest things, they would make a fantastic photo collection… like 9 of them, in little square frames… would be awesome

Leave a Reply

