The Girls Mix Tape

I have been meaning to post this for awhile now. We’ve done a couple long road trips and music is somewhat of a sanity saver. Usually Bal and I play our own music while Brennyn grunts along and Kaya ignores us entirely watching her Bobs & Lolo DVD over and over and over again. But occasionally Kaya wants some dancing music. The girls are pretty damn good at the bee-boppin-kickin-squealin car seat dance-n’-giggle!

This is my non-kids-music kids playlist. I have to admit, it gets played even without a request. Especially if Bal starts slouching in the drivers seat. He doesn’t know it but when I see the slouch, in goes this playlist and as if by magic, he sits back up and starts singing away. Well this or JT. Because Bal loves singing to JT!

*

From Me To You- The Beatles
My Girl –   The Temptations
Your Smiling Face –    James Taylor
All You Need Is Love –    Dana Fuchs & Jim Sturgess    Across the Universe
Lullaby-    Dixie Chicks
Brown Eyed Girl-    Van Morrison
Waving Flags-    Knaan
Life Is a Highway –    Tom Cochrane
Give Her a Great Big Kiss-    New York Dolls
Beauty in the World- Macy Gray
Dance, Dance-    Fall Out Boy
Yellow Submarine –    The Beatles
I Want To Hold Your Hand –    The Beatles
Can’t Buy Me Love –    The Beatles
I Gotta Feeling –    Black Eyed Peas
Ongasingalay (to Kaya- All the Single Ladies to the rest of us) Beyoncé
My Sharona –   The Knack
Beautiful Day –    U2
Jump –    Van Halen
Gonna Make You Sweat –    C+C Music Factory
Vogue –  Madonna
Groove Is In The Heart-    Deee-Lite
Virtual Insanity –    Jamiroquai
Black Or White –    Michael Jackson
I Like To Move It –    Reel 2 Real
I Don`t Feel Like Dancin-    Scissor Sisters
Take Your Mama –    Scissor Sisters
Smooth Criminal –   Michael Jackson
Love Shack –    The B-52’s
1234  –    Feist    The Reminder
Real Girl-  Mutya Buena
Bright Smile-  Josh Ritter
In the Sun-    She & Him
Baby Girl-   Will Hoge
Livin’ It-   Mutlu
Happy Kid-  Nada Surf
Love You Madly-  CAKE
Them There Eyes-  Billie Holiday
OMG- Usher
Morning Lullabies-  Ingrid Michaelson

*

They don’t call it a ‘mix’ for nothing!

2 thoughts on “The Girls Mix Tape

  1. Sweet mix! So many great tunes!
    Are you burning it for friends???!!!??
    And hey, I hope you’re not knockin’ the JT. He makes my heart pidder padder.

  2. I can totally burn it for friends!

    Oh, and so not knocking JT. I LOVE him! Bal rolled his eyes when I first put JT in on a roadtrip. Not even half a song later he was tapping his hands and before long, singing along. Now it is expected every road trip, followed up with the inevitable comment that ‘He can do everything, man. Sing, dance, act, play golf, basketball…’ Now I tease Bal about his man crush 😉

Leave a Reply

