Cheap as a Tailored Slut

Oh my god, how I love that title even though it makes no sense and really has nothing to do with my post!  I was in Le Chateau browsing hair accessories the other day and a woman comes charging out of the change room “Don’t you have anything with a lower v-neck? And sleeveless? I’m going for tailored but slutty too…” Everybody in the whole damn store stopped. Then the sales women, not missing a beat retorts “Of course we have tailored slut options. Come here…” I just about died laughing.

But no, that has nothing to do with my post. My post has to do with this sport I chose to partake in, running, for its cheapness. Grab my runners and head out the door my ass…

Since I started running, I have acquired:

  1. iTunes songs of the upbeat variety. Because as much as I love Amos Lee and Dan Mangan, it’s hard to run while morose and forlorn.
  2. Running bra X2 (Could be X 3 more)
  3. 2 shirts, 2 tank-tops and a skort
  4. $45 late entry fee to the Sun Run
  5. The doozy of all doozies- an iPhone. Okay, so the phone was purchased for multiple reasons, but once I saw a friend using RunKeeper, I HAD TO HAVE THE PHONE NOW. Not once we’ve saved money. Not once the income tax return comes back. NOW!
  6. That reminds me, RunKeeper Pro app. Because the Free one wasn’t good enough. (Well it was, but I wanted the training program too)
  7. Waterbottle holder which I have not got yet but it is waiting for me to open on Mother’s Day. Shhhh, don’t tell anyone! Oh, and yes, it looks somewhat like a fanny pack. Which is so, so wrong but so, so practical and needed too. Practicality always wins in my world. Just look in my underwear drawer.

That is all. For now. Because still on my list is:

  1. More tunes.
  2. New trail runners. Mine stink.
  3. Running socks. Because who doesn’t want to spend $12 one ONE pair of socks to lessen blisters and impact and stink.
  4. Canadian Running Magazine subscription
  5. More races (hopefully!)

Cheap as a Tailored Slut suddenly makes complete slut. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

