A Podium Finish

NaBloPoMo Accomplished! Phew…

Gold medal victory! Okay, this last week has been rough…

But maybe bronze? By one hundredth of a second?

Sorry, Olympic frenzy is gearing up in my neck of the woods. Vancouver-Whistler 2010 Olympics are here in 74 days! The Olympics have been a sore point for many people here. In fact, I don’t even know if many or any of my friends are going to them. Nobody, it seems, wants to admit their excitement or support of the games. Nobody is talking about them.

I am in support of the games. I am excited to go to some events. I was signed up to volunteer until the reality of having a 7-month old and toddler with no babysitter or daycare hit me and I had to give up on that idea.

I get the hesitation to fully support the games. I get that that money could have been well spent in health care or education or other social programs. But the reality, I think, is that money would not have been ‘available’ had it not been for the games. Protesters of the games are adamantly against the games but I wonder if their energy (if all of our energy) could be better spent fighting for their cause(s) instead of fighting against the Olympics.

Yes, the Olympics are too tightly branded and marketed into a mass commercialized event. But they also promote community, multiculturalism, teamwork, fairness, ambition, competitive spirit, dreams, and hard work. Sport is such an integral part of living a healthy life. They promote staying active, living and eating healthy, and participation. The Olympics are a global event. It is a chance to experience sport while learning and respecting other countries and cultures. I can think of no better lesson for my kids. To see the balance of respect with competition. Sportsmanship with personal bests. Dreams with dedication and hard work. Life values learned in a global village of unique and distinct cultures sharing a common goal- sport.

That is certainly something I am proud to be a part of and proud to teach my girls. So I will be there! Look for me. I’ll be the one cheering loud and proud with my red mittens and cow bell chasing down a racing toddler and flashing a boob now and then to quiet the crying baby. Hope to see you there!

5 thoughts on “A Podium Finish

  1. Congratulations! on your goal of 30 blogs in 30 days. I for one will miss the daily glimpses of the day in the life of the Frizma family.

    Great job on the Olympics. You expressed my feelings beautifully on the positive side of the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

