Sitting with Scissors

The farther this pregnancy goes on, the less patience I have with, well, everything. This includes for my daughter.

So when she wiggles away from a hair brush, I manhandle her head of hair into a pathetic sort-of-ponytail that gets her by until I take her to daycare. Here they will, out of sheer pity I am sure, gently, swiftly and with no resistance whatsoever, create the cutest hair-do EVER that she then comes home in.

Actually day 2 of this hair-do. Is it wrong that we didn't bath her so that we could keep the hair in, thus not having to deal with hair the next morning?

Actually day 2 of this hair-do. Is it wrong that we didn't bath her so that we could keep the hair in, thus not having to deal with hair the next morning?

When she is sick and miserable but wants outside in barefeet to play in her new water/sand table, I let her. It’s just so much easier that way. Then I close the glass sliding door because I am cold and watch her from the comfort of my cozy couch.

When she finds scissors that are real scissors, not the totally lame-o kiddie ones, and realizes they are really sharp and really cut things, I willingly hand over a few pieces of paper and let her cut away while I play on Facebook. Thirty minutes of silence, a few Lexulous moves, and only one or two nicks of the pants later, I call it a successful craft!

Paper Massacre as Happy Craft Time

Paper Massacre as Happy Craft Time

When she tantrums one morning and refuses to walk to daycare, I cave and let her pull that damn clicking wooden alligator even though it is 7:45am and we wake the whole neighborhood because even though ‘clicking’ sounds sweet enough, it ‘CLICKS’ louder than a  lawnmower.

Cute but Louder than a Lawnmower

Cute but Louder than a Lawnmower

Still, I suspect it is a few decibels quieter than the alternative of a tantruming toddler and a 7.5 month pregnant momma screaming “ARE YOU KIDDING ME DEVIL CHILD?!!” while we make our way through the neighborhood.

Patience may be a virtue but mommy’s sanity supercedes.

2 thoughts on “Sitting with Scissors

  1. Yes, ours ‘hid’ for a long time too. But she’s getting smarter in her old age and it keeps reappearing if only because driving mommy crazy is ‘weally, weally funny’.

Leave a Reply

