Earth

Happy Earth Day all!

I don’t really have any words of inspiration or earthy antecdote so may I simply recommend a gem* of a book.

It is Flight of the Hummingbird by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas. It is short and sweet with a poignant, timely message.

The message? Simply this:

“I am doing what I can.” -Dukdukdiya the hummingbird

We each must put forth our greatest commitment and energy to doing what we can do. It serves no purpose to complain that others aren’t doing as much as me. Or feel helpless because turning off one light doesn’t save the planet. We can each do what we can do with purpose and intent. There is power and change in that.

“When we put away the notion that greatness is essential to success, then we expand into our full capacity.”- Yahgulanaas

*I tried to play ‘Jem’ in scrabble (Lexulous) but it’s not a word. ‘Gem’ is. Ever since, even though it sounds lame, I have wanted to use gem in a sentence. That or sing ‘Jem is truly outrageous, truly, truly, truly outrageous…’ Now I have done both. Hopefully that ends the obsessive gem/jem thoughts circling my brain.

Leave a Reply

