I am Scared

Are there anti-war Republicans? Or pro-choice ones? Do they all support the right-to-arm? Can there be Republican environmentalists?

I honestly do not know.

I just can not, for the life of me, understand how the Americans would want another Republican government. Especially this one before them.

An old, and old-school, man with skin cancer- melanoma (stage IIA or IIIB is unclear)- that has a 40-60% chance of death in the next 5-10 years.

If said old man dies, the leader of the free world (what an odd expression) will be a woman who’s foreign policy experience consists soley of living between two foreign countries (so do all other Americans she fails to note), barely any economic experience (mayor of a town of 6,000 and governor of freakin Alaska, population 670,000 doesn’t quite cut it) and one who has 5 kids (one of whom is not even two and is special needs and the other a teenager who is having a baby of her own.)

Listen, this last point is causing controversy in the blogosphere. Self-proclaimed feminists say why not, it wouldn’t be an issue if a man were in the same situation. My thinking however, is that more than claiming it should not be an issue for women, is that it should be an issue for men as well. That would be equality. And living honestly.

I don’t know. I’m a mom. I’m an entrepreneur. I have a dog. My partner and I both work full time. I write. I photograph. I read. I am exhausted at the end of the day which all ready has too few hours to be able to keep up with everything (housecleaning, cooking… forget about it.) It is a challenge for me to read an entire Macleans magazine in the week before the next arrives. She will have to read through economic policies and comprehend nuclear weapon threats and be briefed on current events in real time! I can not even run my own household 100% smoothly nevermind a country. An entire country!

Not to say Palin couldn’t do so. Maybe she is superwoman. If the Republicans win, let’s hope and pray that she is. Because this US election result effects the world and the world will react.

Leave a Reply

