On Being a Bad Mother

This was sent home from daycare:

I call it “Two Blotches”. Let’s be honest here. It is not my daughters best work. This has no artistic flare whatsoever. Not even any sign of some messy, finger-gooey-frolicking fun either. Still, this is what they call ‘Art’ at daycare and I suppose they expect me to post it on my fridge and ‘oooh & ahhhh’ over my genius abstract-minded daughter.

Instead I will post it on my blog and make fun of it, then note that my genius abstract-minded daughter has done much better work. Only on that occasion it was with poo. I called it “Poo- On Body”

We are an ultra talented family.

One thought on “On Being a Bad Mother

  1. I like to call it “minimalist” or maybe “paint conservationist”. I know this because Max’s artwork looks surprisingly similar. We would laugh at the large piece of paper we would be given with a line of orange on it. “Works of art” they would tell us. Many of them now fill scrapbooks which we will show to him later and dispute his artistic talent.
    Nicki

Leave a Reply

