Same-Ol’ Same-Ol’

I just read a blog that I have been reading for the last 2 years when the realization hit me. I do not care about this person. Their writing sucks. In fact, I don’t think I even like this person.

So what the hell am I doing wasting my time reading their post?

Short answer.

Because it’s become a part of my routine.

Long anwswer.

It has struck me lately at people’s unnerving ability to continue on with things if only because it has become a part of their daily ritual. We are creatures of habit. We do things (or don’t do them) because we forget to even consider there might be another way.

For me this means reading the same blogs only because I once put them in my favourites ‘Blog’ folder. Or feeding my daughter the same thing for breakfast every single day because it’s easy and she’ll eat it. Or using a dull, cheap knife because I have forgotten what knives are really supposed to do (slice not saw).

On a recent trip to my hometown, it was evident that much of the community has become stuck in a rut. They do not even see the beat-up, rusted, wheel-less truck sitting in their front yard anymore. They are blind to the fact that they need new paint or shingles replaced. It has been like that for so long, we forget to even question it.

Routine is not all bad. It provides comfort, security. It gives us something to look forward to. It is calm.

But sometimes a girl needs to shake things up a bit. Sometimes a person needs to tow that rust mound on the front lawn. Periodically we all need to cleanse. Purge yourself of everything that means nothing to you anymore. Ask yourself if this thing you do holds any value to your life.

Will I miss that persons blog? No.

Even if those old clothes come back in style, will I fit them? (or vice versa) No.
Do those knick-knacks make me happy? Dust collectors mostly.

Do I really need to eat that dessert every night. Hell no! But come on, I want to– all that chocolatey goodness…

What can I say? Some habits are harder to break than others πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Same-Ol’ Same-Ol’

  1. step away from the chocolates. They’re mine!

    I hear you on the boredom. I used to happy surfing various message boards. Animal Cam, mommy boards(several in fact), nonsense boards that talked about nothing. now that is done with, I keep the two momma boards I have FUN on and ditched the rest.

    Some things we read(blogs/boards-whichever) also recycle themselves, do you ever notice that?

  2. yes, totally noticed that. it’s so funny how you do it just cuz you’re used to doing it even though you’re not enjoying it. oh well, i’m stopping and it’s December now which means plenty of chocolates and cookies and treats to go around πŸ™‚ Yay!!

Leave a Reply

