Channel 22

It’s the middle of the night. My one year old won’t sleep. I turn on Channel 22, the cartoon channel where we live, in desperation. She watches in fascination while I collapse in exhaustion.

My eyes are closed but I sense the vivid wonder of this make believe world. I hear the sing-song voices and silly animal noises.

And then I hear something that I should not hear on Channel 22, the cartoon channel where I live.

I hear singing. I hear “VIVA VAGINA!”

My eyes shoot open. I blink madly at the TV screen, through my sleep-crusted bleary eyes, and am fairly certain that is not a vagina in front of me. Still, I can not be sure. The thing on screen is awfully pink and giddy. Vaginas are pink. And I suppose some may be giddy (though certainly not my own at anytime since having a 32cm head pop out of it).

Kaya giggles. (Already she has an inexplicable sense of comedic timing.)

My eyes squint until not only the tv, but the world in front of me all appears very vaginaesque.

Viva Vagina?

Then it sings again. “VIVA PINATA!”

My eyes close. My head lays back down. At 3:10am I ponder the rhymability of vagina with pinata (would anyone else have made this same mistake?), while Kaya watches creepy pinatas named Galagoogoo (so a vagina name) on Channel 22, the cartoon channel where we live.


Meet Les Galagoogoo.

Leave a Reply

