Seeing Myself

There’s a photo contest to post a picture of how you see yourself. What an impossible task. How does one portray both joy and fear? Ambition and contentment? Lovehandles (showcasing annoyance at their presence yet pride in how they arrived) and strength? No picture can convey all of this. We witness only a glimpse, a fraction of a person.

This first photo of myself I love but am unclear as to why. It may be the colours- dark yet comforting, bold yet serene. Perhaps the positioning- layers, depth. Or maybe it is just me with my camera- expressive, creation.

The second shot shows me through my daughters eyes. There is a magnet on my fridge that states ‘Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are!’ I have seen the same said of who your child thinks you are. But in reality, that is too simple. Too black and white. I am more multi-faceted than that. I want to be the kind of person my dog jumps on and licks upon arriving home after only a quick trip to the grocery store and be the kind of person who sends her to a puppy sitter, guilt-free, while taking off on holiday. I want to be the person my daughter’s eyes gaze at adoringly but also one who can step away from that gaze while being the photographer or writer or lover that she does not know me as.

The above shots show a glimpse into Me. The Moody Chick portrays a fraction more. What I see in me, others may not. But what can not be argued or denied, by anyone, is every persons potential in this world.

I am possibility.

Leave a Reply

Seeing Myself

There’s a photo contest to post a picture of how you see yourself. What an impossible task. How does one portray both joy and fear? Ambition and contentment? Lovehandles (showcasing annoyance at their presence yet pride in how they arrived) and strength? No picture can convey all of this. We witness only a glimpse, a fraction of a person.

This first photo of myself I love but am unclear as to why. It may be the colours- dark yet comforting, bold yet serene. Perhaps the positioning- layers, depth. Or maybe it is just me with my camera- expressive, creation.

The second shot shows me through my daughters eyes. There is a magnet on my fridge that states ‘Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are!’ I have seen the same said of who your child thinks you are. But in reality, that is too simple. Too black and white. I am more multi-faceted than that. I want to be the kind of person my dog jumps on and licks upon arriving home after only a quick trip to the grocery store and be the kind of person who sends her to a puppy sitter, guilt-free, while taking off on holiday. I want to be the person my daughter’s eyes gaze at adoringly but also one who can step away from that gaze while being the photographer or writer or lover that she does not know me as.

The above shots show a glimpse into Me. The Moody Chick portrays a fraction more. What I see in me, others may not. But what can not be argued or denied, by anyone, is every persons potential in this world.

I am possibility.

One thought on “Seeing Myself

  1. This brought a tear to my eye, moody chick! You should absolutely submit the photo of you in your babies eyes-it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

