Suspiciously Hippo Like

My favourite baby book I’ve bought so far is Susan Boynton’s Snoozers.

In attempts at ensuring my baby is indeed a snoozer, I crawl into bed and enthusiastically begin reading outloud to baby-to-be.

My immediate favourite is entitled “Pajamas”

Chickens wear pajamas
with a hat to match.
Piggies like pajamas
where the feet attach.
Hippos wear pajamas
just a little tight.

I reread that last stanza. Something doesn’t seem quite right.

Hippos wear pajamas
just a little tight.
I reread it again. But it’s not the words that keep drawing me back I quickly realize. It’s the picture. I start giggling at what I see but it isn’t until I get out of bed and go to the mirror that I really start laughing hysterically. Here, have a look yourself:

7 thoughts on “Suspiciously Hippo Like

  1. I would like to share my own story. I don’t have a picture to share but I suspect your imagination will do the trick. I had a favorite green housecoat that I always wear in the winter. Max was born in Feb so the prime winter months of being pregnant were in my robe. Denton casually commented one day close to Christmas that from the side I looked like the grinch. I looked in the mirror, hunched at bit (not much was needed) and sure enough, i was the grinch. I laughed but then cried (hormons). Gleefully on Christmas morning I awoke to a brand new housecoat! All soft and fluffy and a beautiful pale yellow. ha, now what could they say! Denton quickly piped up “now you look like Big Bird”. I cried again.

    ps – Sandra Boyton is the best! We have the birthday monsters book and I need to buy more!

  2. Kari, you are just far too cute!! Those books are awesome and you look absolutely adorable next to the hippo!! I can’t wait to meet your little person!! Take care

  3. Just had to share, as I can relate to both your and Nicki’s stories! My housecoat is purple, and I have often related myself to Barney, the big purple dinosaur when I am pregnant. πŸ™‚

    Mandy

    PS: Kari – not sure who is cuter…you or that hippo.

  4. um… is “housecoat” some kind of Canadian for “bathrobe”? Sorry, but I’m having trouble with the dialect…

    Julie

    PS – To those of you who don’t know me, I am Kari’s obnoxious American friend. And I don’t really think that you’re speaking “Canadian,” it’s just a joke. But really, I don’t know what a house coat is. I always just thought it was a coat that was too old to wear out around town.

  5. Pingback: Hippolarious « The Moody Chick

Leave a Reply

