Llama Glama

I did not always know Bal and I would be together forever. It was not a ring or a wedding or a romantic gesture that would give me my light bulb moment.

Rather, for Bal and I, it could only be a cud-chewing, buck-toothed, saliva-spitting, llama that would reinforce this fact.

The day was normal enough when I realized we were going to spend the rest of our lives together. We were driving out camping for the weekend. Passing by towns and mountains and farmlands, we chitchatted about the work week behind us, while looking forward to the weekend ahead with friends and the outdoors. No rainbows or lucky pennies or prophetic numbers appeared when the realization struck.

“Oh look, there are some llamas!” I point.

“Cool” Bal proclaims.

“Hmm, I wonder what sound they make.” I question.

Bal glances over at me as he crinkles his forehead in wonder. I, in turn, shrug my shoulders with uncertainty. We both stare back at the winding road ahead as we pass by the llamas. Deep in thought, all is silent.

Until out of nowhere, at the exact same time, unscripted and in unison we both exclaim,

“Llllllaaaaammmmmmaaaaa!!!!” (Think retarded sheep ‘Baaaing’)

We then giggle uncontrollably at the precise timing of our dreadful, off the cuff ‘joke’ (if you can call it that) and continue on to camp.

After we arrive, set up our tent, and have a drink in hand while sitting around the fire with friends, we share our story.

“Dorks!” seems to be the common consensus as everyone laughs.

That’s when it hits me. I could call him my soul-mate, best friend or life-partner, but at the end of the day I have found my fellow dork and that is who I want to spend the rest of my life with.

We look at each other as our friends make fun of us, then retort,

“Llllllaaaaammmmmaaaaa!”

Leave a Reply

